Episode 2 Still learning the camera – show notes

Thank you!

Thanks to all of you who joined the group!

Thanks again to Tammy of the Proverbial Knitter Podcast for the shout out!

http://proverbialknitter.com

New and Good:

Knitting with my knit group.

Hiking Mohonk Preserve with my fellow knitter.

On and Off the Needles:

Stella Jacket – still in progress. I’m about ready to add the sleeves and all that is left is the yoke.

Stella jacket by Kristeen Griffin-Grimes from French Girl Knits made with Valley Yarns from Webs in Organic Merino Mill Ends and Mill End silk kid haze-like yarn in natural on sizes 10 and then 9 and 8.  I guess my gauge changed over the year it’s taken to do another sleeve.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/stella-cable-and-lace-jacket

New project that I shouldn’t have been working on. Handspun yarn made by a friend knitted into a headband that isn’t really making me happy. I’m going to add a top and see if I like it. Quite possibly will be found in the Really? section next week.

Spinning:

Finished the llama angora from Northern Vermont Llama Company 802-644-2257 bought at NYSW in Rhinebeck, NY last year.

Spun 4 ounces of Jacob Swirl from Wellspring Farm as a single also bought at NYSW. Ended up with two different weights of yarn. I love their fiber. It is quite soft and lovely.

http://www.wellspringfarm.com/index.html

Spun llama from Wellspring Farm Chieftan and Jojo as singles and plyed together. Yardage to be determined for all projects.

Really?:  I left the yarn on the couch after recording and now I have two balls of tangled mess instead of one.

Mentioned:

Suri Merino yarn from Blue Sky Alpacas

http://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/blue-sky-alpacas-suri-merino

I really love this yarn and if I ever get that sweater ripped out, I’ll make something really special.

Tips:  Buy organic legumes and grains in bulk. It is less expensive and you have more control as to what’s in it. Better for the environment because it is less heavy to ship than already cooked and packed in cans and if you are making the humus, you’ve now averted another plastic container. It also tastes much better than what you can get in the store.

To make the beans – My batch used 1# of dry beans so that I could have extra for other recipes this week. The recipe called for 1 can of beans so you can make less if you wished; however, even though it is not difficult to make, the prep time is one day so I tend to just make more than what I need for one recipe.

Before you soak look for small stones or foreign matter. Soak beans in a lot of fresh water in a large pot. They will swell up considerably. Add kombu if you like and leave out overnight. Remove kombu carefully if used. Drain and rinse the next day. Add back to the large pot and bring to a boil with more fresh water. Once boiling, lower the heat and simmer with the lid ajar for about an hour. Start checking at that point to make sure that you aren’t over cooking. Mushy beans aren’t very good. You may want to skim off the foam that appears during the cooking process. This is not something that you need to baby sit so cook your other meals and when you’re done, you have ingredients for the next day. Drain and rinse when they are done. Store in a covered pot in the refrigerator.

Make hummus, add to salads, add to soups or add to rice dishes. Get creative. Beans are a great source of fiber and we could all use a little more of that. Be sure to drink more water! It does a body good.

garbanzo beans

garbanzo beans

What do you like to add garbanzo beans in?

I hope you enjoy the recipe. It’s one of the best ones I’ve come across.

http://www.inspiredtaste.net/15938/easy-and-smooth-hummus-recipe/

Please find the buttons to contact me in the side bar.

Thanks for tuning in and have a great week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Episode 2 Still learning the camera – show notes

  1. Cindy says:

    Hi Rosie,
    I’ve enjoyed both podcasts & look forward to future episodes. Thanks for the hummus recipe, I think give it try.
    Cindy

Leave a comment